Bruichladdich Whisky Distillery Islay
?Brook-laddie' ? the Gaelic reference for a raised beach - was built by the Harvey family in 1881 on the shore of Loch Indaal, on the western side of Islay. Closed in 1994 as ?surplus to requirements? it was saved in 2000 by Mark Reynier and a group of private investors, including many with Islay connections.
The layout of the distillery is inspirationally simple, being computer-free and efficiently engineered. After 6 months of renovations, the existing 1881 equipment including an open-top mash tun, started to produce spirit once again in May 2001.
In 2003 a bottling hall was opened making Bruichladdich uniquely Islay from barley to bottle.
6 different barley types are used, grown on 12 different Scottish farms including 4 on the island itself. 20% is organically grown. 3 distillation techniques double, treble and quadruple are employed, as well as 3 malting levels. Each variant and origin is distilled in complete isolation.
Bruichladdich uses mainly minimally peated barley, ideally matched to the unusual tall and narrow-necked stills that provide a complex, subtle, floral and elegant style free from oily, medicinal flavours.
Each bottling is small scale with several being of limited availability. Different cuvées are regularly created by Jim McEwan, who with over 40 years' experience in the whisky industry is a master of additional cask evolution (ACE) ? the art of matching various characteristics of Bruichladdich vintages with alternative cask types and wood origins for greater complexity.
All Bruichladdich whisky is bottled naturally, without chill-filtration and caramel-free and using the legendary Islay spring water for reducing to bottling strength of 46% for fuller flavour.
Visitors can purchase bottles, fill their own Valinch (50cl bottle) or even buy a cask from the Distillery Shop.